Banner MBM

According to the statutes of the Mitteldeutsche Barockmusik e.V. the organs of the society are the general meeting, the executive board, the managing director and the board of trustees.

Board of Trustees


The board of trustees is composed of a representative of the federal government and one each of the federal states Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt and Thuringia. The board of trustees decides in all matters relating to financial funding. In particular this includes the society’s annual budgeting and plans.

Members of the Board of Trustees

The Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media
Martin Eifler

Department K 22 | Music, Performing Arts, Special Areas

The Saxon Ministry of Science and the Fine Arts
Dr. Tatjana Frey

Department 22 | General Funding of the Arts

The Ministry of Cultural Affairs of Saxony-Anhalt
Uwe Hoberg

Department 52 | Theater, Music, Fine Arts

The Thuringian Ministry of Education, Science, and Culture
Dr. Philipp Adlung

Department 44 | Theater and Music, Popular Culture


Executive Board

As specified in the society’s statutes, the executive board has up to eight members. It is elected by the general meeting for terms of three years.

Members of the Executive Board

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Hirschmann (Halle/Saale) – President

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Hirschmann (Halle/Saale) – President
Professor of historical musicology and department chair, Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg; president, Georg-Friedrich-Händel-Gesellschaft

Prof. Dr. Eszter Fontana (Leipzig) - Vice President

Prof. Dr. Eszter Fontana (Leipzig) - Vice President
Director, Grassi Museum for Musical Instruments, Leipzig University

Dr. Christoph Meixner (Weimar) – Vice President

Dr. Christoph Meixner (Weimar) – Vice President
musicologist and historian; since 2010 Archive-Director LISZT UNIVERSITY archive | Thuringian Regional music archive | University of Music FRANZ LISZT Weimar

Gerd Amelung (Weimar/Berlin)

Gerd Amelung (Weimar/Berlin)
harpsichordist, vocal coach and conductor; since 2005 intensive work with baroque operas; lectureship at the University of Music FRANZ LISZT Weimar

Clemens Birnbaum (Halle/Saale)

Clemens Birnbaum (Halle/Saale)
Director, Stiftung Händel-Haus; artistic director, Händelfestspiele Halle

Dr. Carsten Lange (Magdeburg)

Dr. Carsten Lange (Magdeburg)
Head of Research, Telemann Institute (Zentrum für Telemann-Pflege und -Forschung mit Magdeburger Telemann-Festtagen und Internationalem Telemann-Wettbewerb)

Stefan Maass (Batzdorf)

Stefan Maass (Batzdorf)
Lutenist and expert for music of the 17th and 18th centuries; co-founder of the Batzdorfer Hofkapelle



The ongoing business of the society, the administration of the annual proposals and application procedure as well as the preparation and execution of events organized directly by the MBM are ensured by the head office in Blankenburg (Harz) and the managing director’s office in Halle (Saale).

Managing Director

Dr. Christina Siegfried (Halle/Saale | Blankenburg/Harz)
Musicologist and cultural manager; managing director of the MBM since 2009; artistic director of MBM events such as the music festival unMittelBARock! – Tage Mitteldeutscher Barockmusik and the HEINRICH SCHÜTZ MUSIKFEST



To support its work the board of trustees has set up a jury of experts asked in particular to give advice and recommendations in evaluating the annual project applications.

Members of the Jury

Prof. Dr. Regula Rapp (Stuttgart)
Musicologist and harpsichordist; director, Staatliche Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Stuttgart; visiting professor, University of Oregon in Eugene (Oregon, USA)

Dr. Andreas Bomba (Frankfurt /Main)
Musicologist, cultural manager, music journalist; director, Bachwochen Ansbach

Prof. Dr. Detlef Altenburg (Weimar)
Musicologist and professor emeritus, department of musicology, Hochschule für Musik FRANZ LISZT Weimar and Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena

Hermann Max (Bremen)
Conductor and artistic director, Rheinische Kantorei and Das Kleine Konzert

© Mitteldeutsche Barockmusik in Sachsen, Sachsen-Anhalt und Thüringen e.V.

Heinrich Schütz Musikfest
Facebook Seite Heinrich Schütz Musikfest